Election Results and Electoral Commission Statement.

In: Elections, Home Page, Hujjat, Latest News, News

Dearest Members of our community

Salaamun Alaikum

InshAllah you are all well. 

Sunday 6 September 2020 marks a historic date in our Jamaat history. These Elections saw a staggering 1,068 attendees!  with our highest number of female voters ever, at just a hair under 400! Despite the numerous challenges and enhanced precautionary measures we saw high morale, adherence to process and support!  

The Electoral Commission are pleased to announce that the following candidates for their respected positions received the greatest number of votes. For the position of: 

President – Br Hamid Pirbhai (886 votes) 

Vice President – Br Sibtain Allibhai (889 votes)

Honorary Secretary – Br Moshin Kassam (854)

Assistant Secretary – Br Mohamed Asif Rajabali (879 votes)

Honorary Treasure – Br Aqeel Merchant (870 votes)

Assistant Treasurer – Br Muntazir Kanji (886 votes)

Chairlady – (Unopposed) Sr. Nasima Azim Karim (343 votes)

Committee Member- (Unopposed) Sr. Mumtaz M Merali (PK) (339 votes)

Committee Member- (Unopposed) Sr. Samana Fazel (329 votes)

Committee Member- Br Imran Gulamhusein ( 870 votes)

Committee Member- Br Sheikh Abbas Ismail (881 votes)

Committee Member- Br Muhammad Datoo (894 votes)

Committee Member- Br Asad Abdullah (870 votes)

Committee Member- Br Shiraz Jamal (872 votes) 


Please note that for the above post of President his election is subject to the Electoral Commission receiving a clear DBS certificate in accordance with clause 2.1.1. 

For clarity and assurance, the Electoral Commission sought to obtain DBS certificates for both Presidents after their nomination papers were received. Please be advised that a further communication shall be made to the general body upon receipt of the above. 

Pursuant to clause 7.22 of our constitution, on behalf of the Electoral Commission I declare that to the best of our knowledge, the electoral process has been been free and fair. Subsequent to this email I shall provide a more comprehensive set of data for your perusal. 

The Electoral Commission of KSIMC of London wish to thank all members for their participation and support in these Elections. An esteemed token of gratitude for all their assistance, support and effort in achieving the success of these elections: 

Br Musafir Somani 

Br Abidali Hirani

Sr Azmina Mawjee

Sr Raihana Mawjee 

Sr Fatim Ladak 

Sr Zahra Janmohamed 

Sr Fatimah Jessa-Jaffer 

Sr Fatema Mamdani 

Sr Zainab Jaffer 

Sr Alia Merali 

Br Akhtar Jaffer

Br Shabir Kassam 

Jimmy Uncle 

Br Shahid Jaffer 

Br Shams Kermali 

Br Muzaffar Rashid 

Sr Hafiza Mistry 

Br Reyaz Chapar 

Br Mohammed Ashraf Rashid 

Br Tasleem Kanji 

Br Mohammed Azim Dosa 

Br Mohsin Jaganathan 

Sheikh Gulamabbas Murtaza Lakha (Hustings Chair)

Syed Naqvi/ Fizza bai Naqvi 

Our servitude to the community and most importantly our Lord has been an honour and privilege for my team and I. I am emphatically in awe of the unity seen today, may Allah (swt) through His blessed household (a.s) grant our community success, blessings and valour. We wish the incoming E.C. a prosperous term in serving our beloved Jamaat. 


Farhan Jamal – Chair
For and on behalf of the Electoral Commission
The KSIMC of London
Registered Charity No. 288356

By: hmistryh
Back to top

Share Page